Posted in Uncategorized

OBUASI MUST NOT DIE. HELP THIS CAUSE!

As usual on facebook, there are very few people who I log in to read from because their sense of reasoning is devoid of nonsensical political propagandas and so I apreciate reading and learning from them.

As I tapped to expand and read his latest post, I read with a saddened heart when I realised in summary that the very sustaining mine firm AngloGold Ashanti wants to shutdown its Obuasi mine.

This mine for centuries had become the unblical cord providing livelihood for hundreds if not thousands of workers and their families in Obuasi and its surrounding communities.

Here is his cause:

 

SAVE OBUASI NOW! OBUASI MUST NOT DIE!!

“Hello. My name is Kojo Ellimah. I am a native of Kikam and a royal of Alla Bokazo in the Ellembelle District of the Western Region of Ghana. My grandparents settled in Obuasi so many years ago.

My mother and all my uncles and aunties were born here in Obuasi. Most of them married and raised families in Obuasi.

My father met my mother here. All my siblings were born here. I schooled here from kindergarten to secondary school before I spent brief moments in Accra for Sixth Form and professional Journalism training. And in Kumasi for university education.

Obuasi is very important for my family. We call it home. The longest time I have spent in Kikam, my native hometown is five days. But no matter how long I stay outside the country I always come back home, to Obuasi.

But why Obuasi? Gold. As simple as that. The allure of this special metal pulled my ancestors to migrate hundreds of miles to Obuasi. They built their livelihood around this metal. My maternal grandfather was a very fine goldsmith. His wife, my grandmother also hawked fine jewellery in communities in and around Obuasi.

So you see why anytime I talk of Obuasi I get passionate? Obuasi may represent an ancient mining town to some people. To others Obuasi is a commercial centre. But to me, Obuasi is home. My home.

What is happening to my home? The city is virtually comatose, delicately hanging on to multiple tubes at the intensive care unit.

I hear AngloGold Ashanti wants to shut the Obuasi mine. This is akin to shutting off the life support machine. Obuasi cannot and must not be allowed to die. Where will I call home? Which city will welcome me with the bright lights in the night and lively mix of human beings in this detribalised environment?

HERE IS WHAT YOU CAN DO TO HELP THE SITUATION.
If you are reading this: do me a huge favour. Let us all send an urgent appeal to our government. OBUASI MUST NOT DIE. Let us tag the Ashanti Regional Minister, Hon. John Alexander Ackon, Members of Parliament for Obuasi East and West, Hon. Edward Ennin and Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng, and the Obuasi Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Richard Ofori Agyeman. They are all on Facebook.

If you save Obuasi, you have saved my home, and you would have saved Ghana’s economy!

Medaase!”

 “Were you born in Obuasi? Do you live in Obuasi? Do you work in Obuasi? Do you have relatives in Obuasi? The beauty legacy of Obuasi is under threat from the actions and inactions of some politicians. It is time to resist them. Let us save Obuasi”!
SUPPORT THIS CAUSE.

 

Author:

| Broadcast Journalist | Editor @concise_thinker | Editor @Nzemayouthasso | #Blogger & #photographer | Born #Farmer | #Social Service | #Patriotic Ghanaian | Allegiance to True #Islam | #Seer | and Most Notable a Concise Thinker |

Leave a Reply

